3.14159265358979323846264338327…

This page is an introduction.
For the real blog click See my progress here.

I am going to memorize 10,000 digits of Pi. I started around June 7. At that time I had memorized 100 digits. By now (4th of July, 2008 ) I have done 1,300. I don’t always have time to spend on it so there are periods when I don’t do much.

Here are some dates

July 1 – 1,000
July 2 – 1,100
July 3 – 1,300

This diagram shows my progress. I will show an updated diagram in my regular reports under See my progress here where the curve is much higher.

1,300 done

 

I do this in order to test my new memorization method, and to see if I can meet the challenge. It takes about 30 minutes for me to memorize 100 digits.

This memorization technique allows me to tell what digit is found at a given position, so if you ask me what digit is on position 753 then I will be able to tell. It is an 8. The first digit in Pi (the 3) is position 0, and the first decimal (the 1) is position 1.

Yesterday was the first day when I had the idea that memorizing 100,000 digits could be possible for me. Previously that has seemed to be totally impossible. I don’t think I will ever try that though. There is a Japanese guy who allegedly memorized around 100,000 digits of Pi.

When I memorize Pi like this, I sometimes realize that it affects my memory in interesting ways. Old memories can come back for example.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bigparadox.wordpress.com/2008/07/04/pi/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ada wants to know why you stopped? Doing 100 per 30 seems like pretty good progress.

    • I had to make a pause because I got so much other things to do, so I had no time to focus on this.

      But that is now a year ago and I have recently been considering to start again, but not sure I can get the time, I am still very busy with other things.

      Thanks for your comment!

      Magnus

  2. 3.14159265358979323846264338327

    thts wat i know

    • I know that much too, from that Mathematical Pi song


Leave a Reply

