3,600 digits

Today I memorized 40 new mnemonics, or 100 digits.

The thing I wrote about a couple of posts ago, about having a computer create the micro stories by selecting suitable mnemonics, is something one could do to some extent already with computers and programming of today, especially if one combines it with some input from the human.

As I wrote before I am already assisted by a computer program that I made. It is equipped with a dictionary and for each group of 5 digits it shows me all possible mnemonics, categorized into nouns, verbs, and adjectives.

3,600 digits

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bigparadox.wordpress.com/2008/09/02/3600-digits/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What is the best letter: number code? In other words, what letter/number code allows the most word choices?

  2. If each digit would be represented by just one letter, then it wouldn’t really matter how that relationship is set up, provided one works with material where the digits occur “randomly”, like in pi for example, and as long as you use the letters which are most common and let the less common letters be unused.

    That one-to-one relationship is inefficient though and not a very good idea, and there is no need to have it like that.

    It is more efficient and smart to let each digit have more than one letter as a possible representation, and that is what I have, and then your question does become a concern.

    I have two letters for each digit. So with this approach it would be bad to, for example, let a digit be represented by two unusual letters like say X and Z. Better then to let X be together with a common letter like T or so, otherwise the digit in question will have unnecessarily few possibilities. Of course, if one digit has less possibilities, then another will have more, but it is similar to when you have two numbers that you multiply and whose sum is constant, like say for example 5+5=10 and 5*5=25, here you could also instead have 3+7=10 (getting the same sum as with the 5’s) but now the product becomes less, 3*7=21. You can think of this as a non-square rectangle and a proper square, if you analyze it mathematically you will see that the square is the way to maximize the area (the product). So with the letters one must achieve some similar balance between how the digits are represented by letters, but the whole thing gets complicated by the fact that various letters in words occurs more or less frequently (depending on the language).

    I have just tried to use some common sense, but I also wanted to make the translation easy to remember, so I let P represent 9, G represent 6, etc. because of their visual similarity. But with unusual letters like X for example, I made sure I combined it with a more common letter, in this case with P.

    Then there is this rule I use that the vowels are added to create the 5th and the 10th digit of each group of 10. This is a very good way to create a lot more possibilities, but this is also affecting what we are talking about here. I can just mention here that this aspect of the system, the summing of the vowels, is what increases the possibilities to such a level that I will very often be able to adjust the micro stories (4 words) representing 10 digits so that the story relates nicely to the location I put it in. Like I think I mentioned before as an example, “Sandwich-spread establishes Mexican food” was a story I was able to put inside a restaurant.

    Anyway, all in all, if one really wants to optimize the whole thing, one has to do quite some thinking, and probably the best would be to make a computer program that tries various ways and evaluates each way to see which one is the best, for a given language. I did that with an older system I had, similar to the present system, but I haven’t done it with the present system. The present system is so much better than the old system so I felt there was no big need to do that kind of optimization. But it could be done, and it would maybe be good.


Leave a Reply

